A Few Days at the Cove

Upon arriving at the cove I already had a sense that God was moving in my life. With a greeting from the Pilgrim’s Inn attendant and dinner shortly after, my stay here began with hospitality and fellowship. Several things have been pressed upon my heart so far. I’ll begin with a quote from George Mueller in the book I was given at check-in.

The point is this: I saw more clearly than ever, that the first great and primary business to which I ought to attend every day was to have my soul happy in the Lord. The first thing to be concerned about was not how much I might serve the Lord, how I might glorify the Lord; but how I might get my soul into a happy state, and how my inner man might be nourished. The first thing the child of God has to do morning by morning is to obtain food for his inner man. As the outward man is not fit for work for any length of time except if we take food, and this is one of the first things we do in the morning, so it should be with the inner man. Now what is the food for the inner man? Not prayer, but the word of God; and here again not the simple reading of the word of God, so that it only passes through our minds, just as water runs through a pipe, but considering what we read, pondering over it and applying it to our hearts”

So what has God been pressing in on my heart?

  1. The importance of Christian fellowship. The times around the table at breakfast, lunch and supper have been extremely edifying. (Also, extremely edible…every meal has been gourmet and delectable) It is incredibly encouraging to hear what God is doing in various people, ministries and places around the world. God reminded me to listen to Him through His people because He has not created me to be a lone ranger. One of the areas of my life which needs strengthening is the cultivation of strong gospel friendships.
  2. I was overwhelmed at the legacy of simple gospel proclamation. As I walked around and observed the history of Billy Graham’s life and ministry, I was gripped with a sense of significance that transcended me, the ministry or any man.
  3. The sweetness of meditation must never be lost to us. Having a focused time of reading, pondering, applying and praying over the Bible is one of the most fundamental disciplines of the Christian life. We NEVER outgrow this need and I pray we never lose our love of it. (Psalm 119)
  4. God is still working on me. He has exposed so many areas of my life in which He is calling me to deeper faithfulness to His commands. Sanctification is a lifelong process whereby God almighty brings us into further conformity with His character and commands. Thankfully, He has given us His word and the Holy Spirit to guide us in this journey.

So, what is God doing in your life? Share in the conversation.

One Comment on “A Few Days at the Cove

Leave a Reply

