Am I Not Enough?

1 Corinthians 15:1-4
1Now I would remind you, brothers, of the gospel I preached to you, which you received, in which you stand, 2and by which you are being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you— unless you believed in vain.3For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, 4that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures”

The simple truth of the gospel of Christ is essential not only for the unsaved but also for believers. When people embrace the fact that Christ has died for their sins and that He rose from the dead, they embrace a truth that can save their souls and draw them closer to God on a daily basis. But, has this simple truth been abandoned by the culture of the church today?

For every innovation of ministry we must be constantly reminded of the sufficiency of the Cross. A question comes to my mind each time I contemplate new strategies and methods of reaching out to the lost and those who need discipleship. It is a question asked from the perspective of God and it should haunt us to think that we may be denying the power of the gospel. I imagine the father in heaven looking down on all our strategies and plans, being pleased with the motivation of reaching those who need Him so desperately, but being amazed at how often we allow our methods to intefere with the simplicity of the message. As we make every effort to make things exciting I suppose God’s question might be, “Am I not exciting enough?” As we add to the proclamation of His word I think God might ask, “Is my word not enough?” As we attempt to make everything practical even if not biblical, I envision the father looking down with tear stained eyes and a jealous heart and asking, “Am I not enough?”.

Perhaps we need to be bold and engaging in how we present the simple truths of God, but it might also be true that the simple truths of God are bold and engaging and our hearts have been tainted by the pragmatism of our culture. Others may trust in the methodology of man, but I am continuously convicted that God IS enough.

Leave a Reply

