A Typical Night

As Christmas approaches and after Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God concert…

www.mcdunn85.com

The Christmas season is upon us. I’m annually reluctant to “get into the Christmas Spirit;” however, I wouldn’t consider myself a scrooge. God has a way of guiding my mindset into the significance of Christ’s birth in His own time. The tipping point usually involves a different catalyst each year. In years past, sermons, devotions, concerts, songs and conversations have all served to bring advent into my own personal reality.

This year that catalyst was a song from Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God record. Jill Phillips is the talented vocalist, and the first line of the song was the tipping point. The lyrics made me think, as Peterson lyrics often do. The CD went in and when the track came on I heard, “It was not a silent night.” Those words reverberated in my soul. Obviously, I held this in immediate contrast with the traditional Christmas carol that…

View original post 363 more words

Leave a Reply

