Rhyme and Reason

Rhyme and Reason

Sometimes a turn of phrase spoken or sung at the right moment can grant us an epiphany. What is it about a lyric or a quote that seems to stir us so deeply? How can words impact our lives so powerfully? These questions hint at a deeper question. How does our humanity translate into reality?

We have undoubtedly heard the expression that at times something is “without rhyme or reason.” Actually, I’ve come to find that even what seems to be pointless has both rhyme and reason. Those seemingly pointless and often painful experiences we face find their translation in songs, poems, essays, blog posts, and books. One such lyric for me comes from a Rich Mullins song called, Hard to Get.

I’m reeling from these voices that keep screaming in my ears
All the words of shame and doubt blame and regret
I can’t see how You’re leading me unless You’ve led me here
Where I’m lost enough to let myself be led
And so You’ve been here all along I guess
It’s just Your ways and You are just plain hard to get

Mullins’ honest lyric (I recommend the song in it’s entirety) connects with me in a way that few others can. From the moment I first heard it, I sensed something resonating deep inside and have often listened to the song as a means of lament.

However, for all of the power such a turn of phrase can have on us, there is no greater power than that contained in the word of the living God. As the author of Hebrews states,

      For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart (4:12)”

Contemplate the piercing power of the word of God. No clever wording, phrasing, structure, melody, rhythm, or lyric can compare to the richness, beauty, and resonating of God’s word. Moreover, He who became the word of God in the flesh expresses the truest and best translation of our humanity into reality and, more importantly, the translation of God’s glory into humanity (John 1:14). 

Leave a Reply

