4 Practical Spiritual Vulnerabilities

Vulnerability-Just-Ahead

As I think about the seasons of intense growth and seasons of stagnation in my faith, there are recurring elements of weakness I can put my finger on. I suppose these are more like personal confessions, but I’m sure there are others who share them. The following points comprise a list of common vulnerabilities I need to keep in check. Perhaps you do as well.

1. An Imbalanced Music Selection

Music has a powerful influence on our emotions and intellects. It is remarkable how a turn of phrase and a chord progression can grip our hearts, grant epiphanies, and connect the dots of our lives. Every song is written from a particular worldview and therefore connects us to that worldview in subtle and overt ways. I’ve noticed that when my music selection leans towards secular, my attitude and outlook leans that way as well. Likewise, when God-centered and theologically rich music is on my playlist, my soul appreciates it and my life reflects it.

2. Lack of Christian Fellowship

I am prone to seclusion. I am also prone to justify my sins, as all sinners are. As I find myself pulling away from other Christians (in the name of solitude and focus), I also find myself walking away from the people who hold me accountable, offer encouragement, and who need me to reciprocate. When I am distant from the people of God I am also more distant from God Himself.

3. Abounding Distractions

Exchanging  substantive and edifying endeavors for time consuming shallow habits is an ongoing struggle. There are constant opportunities to waste free time. Chris Rice has lyrics that express our opportunity and responsibility.

Every day is a bank account
And time is our currency
So nobody’s rich, nobody’s poor
We get 24 hours each
So how are you gonna spend
Will you invest, or squander

My greatest weaknesses in this area include filling free time with television, aimless internet searching, and social media binges. We all need down time, but that time might be better spent taking a walk, entering into prayer, or reading a book. Wisdom, discipline, and accountability can help us in this area.

4. Being Unprepared for Church

Faithful assembly with God’s people is undoubtedly essential for believers; however, our preparation for that time is equally important. Whether or not we have saturated ourselves with God’s word, prayed for personal and congregational edification, and positioned ourselves spiritually and practically to benefit from our time at church is an indicator to the importance we ascribe to our relationship with God.

These might be considered the top four practical vulnerabilities of my life. Can you identify with them? If so, ask God to forgive you where you have fallen short and overcome these areas by grace. I know I will.

Leave a Reply

